As we prepare for the 43rd annual NAACP Images Awards, the Museum of UnCut Funk decided to take a trip down memory lane.

The 8th annual NAACP Image Awards circa 1975 was sponsored by the Beverly Hills Hollywood branch of the NAACP. Billy Eckstine and Denise Nicholas hosted the show.

Top honors went to Sidney Poitier for Uptown Saturday Night as Best Motion Picture and Best Motion Picture Director. Ray Charles received the President’s Award, Barry White won Album of the Year for Can’t Get Enough of Your Love, Male Vocalist of the Year and Producer of the Year.

Television Awards went to the Television Special – Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman, Best TV Series – Good Times, Best Actor and Actress – Esther Roll and Jimmie Walker.

Motion Picture Awards went to Curtis Mayfield for Claudine, Best Screenwriter to Richard Wesley for Five on the Black Hand Side, Producer of the Year was a tie between Mel Tucker for Uptown Saturday Night and Bill Alexander for The Klansman.

Best Actress went to Diahann Carroll and Best Actor to James Earl Jones for Claudine.





Add Your Comment

Related Posts